Book Review: I Found You Lisa Jewell

Posted April 20, 2017 by Melissa in Book Review | 12 Comments

Book Review: I Found You Lisa JewellTitle: I Found You
Author: Lisa Jewell
Publisher: Atria, Simon and Schuster
Publication date: April 25th 2017
Target Audience: Adult
Genres: Mystery, Suspense
Length: 352 Pages
Source: Publisher
Format: eARC
Find It: Goodreads
Buy It: Amazon|B&N|Book Depository
My Rating:

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Book Quote

‘How long have you been sitting out here?’
‘I got here yesterday.’
‘Where did you come from?’
‘I have no idea.’

My Thoughts

I Found You was a relatively slow paced novel that slowly ratcheted up the suspense until  I literally could not put it down.

We approach the story from three directions.  One from two decades in the past telling the story of seasonal vacationers and their two teen children Gray and Kirsty. And the others from the vantage points of two women in the current time period – One a more mature single mom and the other a young newly married foreigner.

All of these characters are wonderfully flawed. I can’t say that I fell in love with any of them but I could understand and/or respect a lot of their decisions after getting to know them all a bit better. And Alice’s love of dogs won me over from the beginning.

I loved getting the varying viewpoints and trying to guess as it all went along to figure out the answers.  Who is this man on the beach that Alice has “found”?  Is it Lily’s missing husband? Is it a grown up Gray? And just what is it that he can’t remember?

There is also just a hint of romance and I think that is perfect for what this novel attempts to accomplish.

Completely addicting, I Found You by Lisa Jewell is a must read for lovers of mystery and suspense.

Completely addicting, I Found You by @lisajewelluk is a must read for lovers of mystery and suspense. Click To Tweet

About Lisa Jewell

Lisa was born in London in 1968. Her mother was a secretary and her father was a textile agent and she was brought up in the northernmost reaches of London with her two younger sisters. She was educated at a Catholic girls’ Grammar school in Finchley. After leaving school at sixteen she spent two years at Barnet College doing an arts foundation course and then two years at Epsom School of Art & Design studying Fashion Illustration and Communication.

She worked for the fashion chain Warehouse for three years as a PR assistant and then for Thomas Pink, the Jermyn Street shirt company for four years as a receptionist and PA. She started her first novel, Ralph’s Party, for a bet in 1996. She finished it in 1997 and it was published by Penguin books in May 1998. It went on to become the best-selling debut novel of that year.

She has since written a further nine novels, as is currently at work on her eleventh.

She now lives in an innermost part of north London with her husband Jascha, an IT consultant, her daughters, Amelie and Evie and her silver tabbies, Jack and Milly.

Tags: ,


Don't want to miss a thing? Subscribe to my newsletter and get all my posts in your inbox!

12 responses to “Book Review: I Found You Lisa Jewell

    • Melissa

      It’s definitely still engaging despite the slow pace. It’s my first Jewell read but I plan to check out her other work.

  1. Hi Melissa! Decided I should be following your blog since we read The Chemist together. 😉 Now I’m glad I did. This book sounds right up my alley. I’ll have to check it out.

    • Melissa

      Hey Jenny! Good idea. I’ll go check your blog out too! Hope you enjoy I Found You if you pick it up! I’m definitely going to check out Jewell’s other books!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge